Florals and Pleats

IMG_3196

Hello sewing-lovahs! Been a bit of a break as I got sick like the puppy, but I am back and mildly raring to go (antibiotics suck the life outta you, don’t they). Here I present to you another franken-dress: the bodice is from Simplicity 1873, the sleeves are self-drafted using a Topshop dress I like, and the shirt is self-pleated using my own new technique (Which I will do a tutorial on this weekend). Let me tell you, pleating without a pattern and getting everything to match was an… interesting experience, one I could have avoided with some maths. But I don’t like maths. And this way it was a voyage of discovery. *cough*.

The fabric is a dark floral- so 90’s! in a drapey rayon, lined with some sort of crinkly soft cotton I-don’t-know-what. In the photos the lining is peeking above the neckline, which it suddenly started doing halfway through the second wear- I did stabilise the neckline so I’m not sure if this is an ironing issue, a stay-stitching failure or just how it was washed.

IMG_3194

Judge not my honker of a nose. Look instead at the glory of mine shoes.

IMG_3191

I can haz all the pleats.

IMG_3190

Just so comfortable and natural in front of the camera. 
2 thoughts on “Florals and Pleats

  1. Pingback: The Floral Anna | Sew-Sew Betty

Leave a Reply

